Where Science meets Society

Dear Guests of ScienceNights,

Welcome to our homepage!

Since their introduction in the summer of 2012, the ScienceNights have established themselves as a marketplace for unconventional ideas and new, stimulating personal experiences. Our objective with these events was and is to offer you an entertaining and not always serious-minded framework, in which you can explore scientific worlds and meet new contacts in a relaxed and playful setting.

At the ScienceNights, one to two established experts talk about their field of expertise with the great passion that is the driving force of every successful researcher. The presentations are consciously written in a way that makes them understandable to lay people and encourages fascinating discussions over aperitifs and music.

In the past, for example, we have learned from J. Craig Venter what genome research has made possible today, 60 years after the discovery of the double helix. With Claude Nicollier in Basel we have been taken on an imaginary journey into space, while Bertrand Piccard in Montreux took us on a trip around the world. In Zug, Sean Simpson introduced us to the world of ice hockey. And from Udo Pollmer in Basel we learned why French fries are no unhealthier than bread and butter. A very special evening was offered in St. Gallen, when the abbey librarian Dr. Cornel Dora guided the ScienceNight guests through his realm, the wonderful abbey library. Meanwhile, in Zurich the neuroscientist Peter Brugger took his audience into the depths of the human brain before the iPad magician Simon Pierro had everyone spellbound by his conjuring skills.

We would be delighted to welcome you to one of our events in the future.


Best regards

awyss mleuenberger
André Wyss
Global Head, Novartis Business Services
and Country President Switzerland

Matthias Leuenberger
Delegate Novartis Schweiz

Where Science meets Society

Liebe Gäste der ScienceNights

Seit ihrer Einführung im Sommer 2012 haben sich die ScienceNights als ein Marktplatz für unkonventionelle Ideen und neue, anregende persönliche Erfahrungen etabliert. Unser Ziel war und ist, Ihnen mit diesen Anlässen einen unterhaltsamen und nicht immer ganz ernst gemeinten Rahmen zu bieten, in dem Sie ungezwungen und spielerisch wissenschaftliche Welten erschliessen und neue Kontakte knüpfen können.

Bei den ScienceNights sprechen je ein bis zwei ausgewiesene Experten über ihr Fachgebiet- mit der grossen Leidenschaft, die die Triebfeder eines jeden erfolgreichen Forschers ist. Die Referate sind bewusst so ausgelegt, dass sie auch von Laien verstanden werden und zu spannenden Diskussionen bei Apéro und Musik anregen.

In der Vergangenheit konnten wir beispielsweise von J. Craig Venter lernen, was die Genomforschung 60 Jahre nach der Entdeckung der Doppelhelix heute möglich macht. Mit Claude Nicollier reisten wir in Basel gedanklich ins All, Bertrand Piccard nahm uns in Montreux auf eine Reise rund um die Welt mit. In Zug führte uns Sean Simpson in die Welt des Eishockey ein. Und von Udo Pollmer lernten wir in Basel, warum Pommes nicht ungesünder sind als ein Butterbrot. Ein ganz besonderer Abend wurde in St. Gallen geboten, als Stiftsbibliothekar Dr. Cornel Dora die ScienceNight Gäste durch sein Reich, die wunderbare Stiftsbibliothek, führte. In Zürich hingegen führte der Neurowissenschaftler Peter Brugger in die Tiefen des menschlichen Gehirns ein ehe der iPad Magier Simon Pierro das Publikum verzauberte.

Wir würden uns freuen, Sie in Zukunft an einem unserer Events begrüssen zu dürfen.

 

Mit freundlichen Grüssen

awyss   mleuenberger
André Wyss
Global Head, Novartis Business Services 
und Länderpräsident Novartis Schweiz
  Matthias Leuenberger
Delegierter Novartis Schweiz